Singapore Prize 2022 Winners Announced

A migrant worker is S$18,888 richer after winning the top prize in his company’s annual dinner and dance (D&D) game. Selvam Arumugam beat 35 other employees to clinch the prize money by beating them at games that were inspired by popular Netflix series Squid Game. The winner, who is employed by heavy lift and transport company Pollisum Engineering, was the only one to make it past the first round of the matchups.

The prize is supported by philanthropic organisation Temasek Trust, investment firm Temasek, decarbonisation investment platform GenZero and non-profit environmental organisation Conservation International. It is a way of supporting projects that can accelerate the impact and scale of their solutions and bring about “tangible action to heal the planet”, said Temasek Trust’s chief executive Desmond Kuek. He added that the partnership will help to attract global leaders, businesses and investors to Singapore, and drive action on a number of key sustainability issues.

This year’s winners will be announced in a ceremony in November. It will be a part of the inaugural Earthshot Week, with global leaders and businesses convening in Singapore with prize winners and finalists to explore ventures aimed at bringing about sustainable solutions. The event will also feature performances by world-renowned musicians and artists.

Besides the cash prize, the winners will also be offered mentorships and funding to enable them to expand their impact and reach. They will also have the chance to work with Temasek’s investment teams to develop their businesses and create lasting change. Last year, the prize funded a team from Oman that promised to eliminate billions of tonnes of carbon dioxide by turning it into rock, as well as a Kenyan business that reduced air pollution by crafting reliable stoves from waste metal.

A violinist is among the 2022 winners of this year’s Singapore Prize, which was announced on December 14. The competition’s jury reportedly included Qian Zhou, Martin Beaver, Mihaela Martin, Joel Smirnoff and Tsu Vera Weiling. The winner will receive USD $110,000, along with several concert engagements. Other winners include Dmytro Udovychenko, Anna Agafia Egholm and Angela Sin Ying Chan. This is the second time the Singapore Prize has been awarded since it was established in 2014.